Skip to main content

Fulbright Alumni at UC San Diego

As a world-class public research university, UC San Diego boasts a number of Fulbright alumni among our faculty, educators and administrators. Below you can find information on past Fulbrighters teaching and working on campus.


We are currently gathering information on Fulbrighters affiliated with UC San Diego. If you are a former Fulbright grantee at UC San Diego, please complete this brief form with details about your experience. In addition to being added to this directory, you will be invited to community-building and networking events with Fulbrighters past, present and prospective. 




Dr. Michael Pratt, Director of the UC San Diego's Master's of Public Health (MPH) Program, is spending the 2022-23 Academic Year in Palacky University Olomouc in the Czech Republic as a Fulbright Distinguished Chair, the most prestigious award offered by the Fulbright Scholar Program. Dr. Pratt has worked with peers at Palacky since 2010 through the International Physical Activity and the Environment Network (IPEN) Project and the Global Observatory for Physical Activity (GoPA!)Dr. Pratt intends to collaborate with peers and learn best practices from Palacky in order to advance the Herbert Wertheim School of Public Health and Human Longevity Science (HWSPH) as a global leader in public health education and research.

Though this is Dr. Pratt's first Fulbright Award, he was instrumental in launching the Fulbright Chair in Public Health Sciences at HWSPH with Fulbright Brazil. UC San Diego hosted its first Chair, Dr. Pedro Hallal from the Universidade Federal de Pelotas (UFPel), in 2021.


Fulbright Alumni by Last Name A-M

  • William Robertson Geibel

    William Robertson Geibel

    Award Type: English Teaching Assistantship
    Country: Turkey
    Award Year: 2012
    Description:  William was the sole instructor of first-year English courses for university students.
    Open to Mentorship? Yes! Email:
  • Andra Jacques

    Andra Jacques

    Award Type: International Education Administrators Award
    Country: South Korea
    Award Year: 2017
    Description:  Visited 13 Korean institutions to foster educational exchange, share practices, and strengthen the student exchange relationship between the U.S. and South Korea.
    Open to Mentorship? Yes! Email:

  • Thad Kousser

    Award Type: Distinguished Chair
    Country: Australia
    Award Year: 2014-2015
  • Roark Miller

    Award Type: Fulbright Hayes Doctoral Dissertation Research Award and International Education Administrators Award
    Country: Italy (Fulbright Hays) and India (IEA)
    Award Year: 1990 (Italy) and 2018-2019 (India)
    Description: Dissertation research--Italian secular solo song 1600-1630 (Fulbright Hayes); Int'l Education Administrator seminar--India
    Open to Mentorship? Yes! Email:
  • Jay Minert

    Award Type: International Education Administrators Award
    Country: United Kingdom
    Award Year: 2013
    Description:  Learned more about the United Kingdom’s higher educational system and established networks of U.S. and international colleagues over the course of an intensive three-week grant duration. Returned with an enhanced ability to serve and encourage prospective students to participate in Fulbright.
    Open to Mentorship? Yes! Email:

Fulbright Alumni by Last Name N-Z

  • Michael Parrish

    Award Type: Distinguished Chair
    Country: Czech Republic
    Award Year: 2014-2015